Cecil Court update

by Laurence Worms - Ash Rare Books

thelastbookshop

I thought it was high time I posted an update on one of our filming locations – Cecil Court in central London. It’s been a surprisingly long time since I wrote about its fascinating history and even longer since I blogged about the shoot at Goldsboro Books and David Drummond’s shop.

mozart blue plaqueOn Friday I happened to be in the area, so I thought I’d return. First off, you may remember me mentioning that an 8 year old Mozart briefly lived in Cecil Court, at the time that he was composing his first symphonies. Well, since my last visit a blue plaque has been installed to commemorate the fact.

It was unveiled by the actor Simon Callow, a noted supporter of Cecil Court, who also portrayed Mozart on stage in 1979 and has been quoted as saying “I am absolutely thrilled to do anything to celebrate Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.” If you…

View original post 418 more words

