Beautiful Science

by Laurence Worms - Ash Rare Books

The Bookhunter on Safari

British Library Wearing my hack’s hat this week, in my guise of reporter-at-large for the ABA website and newsletter.  Off to the British Library, always a pleasure of course, but specifically there on this occasion to take in the press view of a brand-new exhibition: Beautiful Science .  Pausing only to drop off a little something at the Map Library upstairs, in hope that it might duly be acquired by this great and august institution, I made my way to the smallish Folio Society Gallery to check out the exhibition.

An august institution, yes of course, our national library, so I suppose I was rather expecting a staid parade of the editiones principes of the great masters, leavened with the odd choice manuscript, and a morning of gentle savouring and genteel pleasure.  Not a bit of it.  The modern BL has fully embraced digital.  Everywhere I looked it was all infographic, interactive…

View original post 1,043 more words

