Countdown

by Laurence Worms - Ash Rare Books

Directory of Rare Book and Special Collections in the UK and Republic of Ireland

As I mount this, there is just under a month to go before entries for the Directory of Rare Book and Special Collections are due. The first couple arrived very shortly after my January emails requesting updates to old entries, and submissions have been trickling in ever since. Sometimes I have sent back questions; often I have just saved the documents in the growing folder of 2015 entries and acknowledged them with brief thanks while concentrating on making initial contacts with elusive repositories. If Barry Bloomfield’s experience when editing the second edition of the Directory is a guide, in the next four weeks the trickle will become a flood. A daunting prospect in a way, but an exciting one.

Producing my own library’s entry has been on my work “to do” list for several weeks now; I can’t myself fail to meet a deadline that everybody else is heeding conscientiously!…

View original post 170 more words

